How durable is classical music?

A preface to the series. Thoughts on the demise of classical music in contemporary culture.

00:00 Intro
00:36 Five billion years
05:03 Tunnel listening
12:13 ‘Classical music’
18:17 An accumulated past

Music and sound fragments

  • 00:42, 07:43 W.A. Mozart, Piano Concerto in A KV 488, Adagio. Piano*
  • 03:01 W.A. Mozart, Die Zauberflöte KV620, aria Der Hölle Rache. Edda Moser, Orchester der Bayerischen Staatsoper, Wolfgang Sawallisch, EMI 1973
  • 05:42 Collage of voices from The Voyager Golden Record: Greetings and Sounds of the Earth. NetFilm Music © 2013
  • 10:24 L. van Beethoven, Große Sonate für das Hammerklavier op. 106, Adagio sostenuto. Piano*
  • 13:41 W.A. Mozart, Minuet KV315a No. 1. Piano*
  • 15:14 J.S. Bach, Das wolhtemperierte Klavier II, Präludium in F-sharp minor BWV 883. Piano*

*Piano: Lodewijk Muns